PODS Moving Review 2022: Pricing & Services

We analyzed hundreds of quotes and thousands of reviews over three years to pick PODS as the best moving container company.

Best overall
pods
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6
  • pro
    Positive customer reviews
  • pro
    10% Move.org discount
  • con
    Confusing prices
PODS
Industry average
Learn more
$3,810$3,870
Kurt Manwaring
Researcher & Writer
Read More
November 15, 2022
10 min read

Bottom line: PODS® is our favorite moving container company. It has low prices, high-quality container and storage options, and nationwide availability.

pro
Pros
pro Low prices
pro Multiple steel container sizes
pro Lots of storage options
pro Positive customer reviews
pro 46-state availability
con
Cons
con Confusing prices

Bullhorn
Move.org Moving Grants: The 411

At Move.org, we offer financial assistance to individuals and families who are moving in exchange for details about their experience. Their candid reviews help us provide unique, real-life perspectives about the moving process.

Visit our Moving Grant hub to find out which companies we’ve worked with and to apply for funding for your next move!


PODS pricing

The average cost to move with PODS is approximately $3,810. Prices vary depending on your home size and trip distance. For example, you can move a one-bedroom apartment 100 miles for as little as $850. On the other hand, it costs more than $6,500 to transport belongings from a five-room home across the country.

PODS moving container prices

Distance
100 miles
1,000 miles
2,000 miles
Learn more
1 room
$850
$3280
$2710
2 rooms
$1340
$3840
$3450
3 rooms
$1340
$3840
$3450
5 rooms
$1940
$7260
$6520

Data as of March 2022. Offers and availability may vary by location and are subject to change. Average cost calculated by comparing moving costs for four home sizes across six distances.

PODS fees

PODS has low prices, but they come with a drawback: confusing invoices. The company charges a laundry list of fees at various stages of your move. You almost need a secretary to take notes when the company breaks down the costs. There are just so… many… numbers.

We recommend you focus on the total amount to ensure that PODS is the right fit for your move. After that, you can work with the customer service rep to sort out the different fees:

  • Container fee
  • Delivery fee
  • Redelivery fee
  • Transit fee
  • Transportation
  • Monthly rental
  • Taxes
  • Coverage

You have two coverage options when moving with PODS:

  1. Container only. Insure your PODS container (but not your personal belongings) against loss or damage for $10 per month.1
  2. Contents protection. Protect your PODS container and personal belongings against mishaps like burglary, vandalism, and delivery snafus for a monthly fee. Costs vary from $34.95 to $469.95, depending on the value of your household items.

PODS Contents Protection coverage pricing

Declared value
Monthly cost
$5000
$34.95
$25000
$79.95
$50000
$119.95
$100000
$179.95
$200000
$319.95
$300000
$469.95

Data as of 4/19/2022. Pricing for US Contents Protection only and subject to change. Individuals should review their rental contract—including addendums—for a complete description of the policy’s terms, conditions, and exclusions.


What to know about PODS

It’s the best moving container company

PODS is our pick for the number one moving container business. Some companies do certain things better. For example, U-Pack has coverage in 50 states (4 more than PODS). But no other company is near the front of the pack for as many reasons:

  • Low prices. PODS costs less than average. Throw in a special discount for Move.org readers, and PODS becomes the cheapest moving container company.
  • Great reviews. PODS has the second-highest customer review scores in the moving container industry. Customers frequently praise the company for its helpful customer service, timely delivery, and affordability.
  • Wide availability. PODS is available in 46 states (some companies have locations in fewer than 30). It also kept up with moving demand during the pandemic better than any container moving service.
  • High-quality containers. PODS has three different sizes of steel-framed containers, while some companies have only one model made of flimsy plywood. Containers are weather-resistant and have a good track record of keeping belongings safe and dry.
  • And more. PODS has top-tier storage options, provides moving services for all home sizes, and can handle both local move and long-distance moves. No matter which way you slice it, PODS continually provides flexible moving solutions to customers.

You can claim a 10% discount

PODS has a special 10% discount for Move.org readers. The company already has below-average prices, but they get even better with the special deal. For example, the average cost of moving with PODS is around $3,800 (about $50 below the standard rate). The price plummets approximately $400 after applying the discount.

You walk away with almost four extra Benjamins in your pocket. The savings come in handy if you need to hire a mover by the hour to help with things like packing moving boxes or loading the PODS container.

The average customer saves nearly $400 with a PODS discount

Few companies get better customer reviews

PODS has the second-highest customer reviews in the moving container business. Our analysis of over 16,000 reviews from five different companies reveals that customers prefer PODS over virtually every container company. Customer reports repeatedly highlight PODS’ low prices, fast service, and friendly customer service.


How does PODS compare to other companies?

PODS is the best moving container company we’ve seen. While some competitors do certain things better, none of them score as highly in as many categories. For example, no company has more containers or storage options than PODS. Similarly, PODS met increased COVID-19 moving demand better than the competition. It has extra insurance coverage. The list goes on and on.

Notably, there’s one company, U-Pack, that has better customer reviews. But PODS takes second place—and beats U-Pack’s price by $700. Technically, Zippy Shell has the lowest moving container prices. However, that’s before factoring in PODS’ 10% Move.org discount. Put that perk on the table, and PODS beats out Zippy Shell as the cheapest moving container company by $50.

No moving container company creates a more fully rounded customer experience than PODS when you look at the entire picture.

PODS compared to other moving container companies

Company
Avg. price
Avg. customer review score (out of 5)
# of containers
Learn more
$3810
3.1 out of 5 stars
3.1
3
$3850
2.4 out of 5 stars
2.4
3
$3480
2.4 out of 5 stars
2.4
1
$4500
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5
1
$3700
2.3 out of 5 stars
2.3
1

Data as of May 2022. Offers and availability may vary by location and are subject to change. Average cost calculated by comparing moving costs for four home sizes across six distances. Average customer review score calculated by averaging more than 16,000 customer reviews from 10 different websites.


Features and services

PODS at a glance

DescriptionPODS information
Average price
$3810
At-home storage
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Facility storage
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Container materialsSteel frame
# of containers3
# of states46
Average customer review score (out of 5)
3.1 out of 5 stars
3.1

Local and long-distance moves

PODS can help you move no matter the distance. The real win here is the local availability. Virtually every moving company handles long-distance moves, but some don’t offer in-town options. That’s a pain if the company’s prices match your budget and features resonate with your moving situation, but you can’t hire it for the job.

Thankfully, PODS doesn’t make you sweat it out. The moving container company provides local and long-distance moving services in 46 states.

Moving containers

PODS’ specialty is moving containers. The company is so well-known that some competitors violate the PODS® trademark by referring to moving containers as moving pods. It sets the industry standard in many ways.

Here’s how moving containers work. PODS delivers a container to your home. You load the PODS container and then call the company to pick it up. PODS then transports your container and belongings to your new home and drops them off. You unload the container, and then PODS picks it back up. One, two, three, done.

Note: PODS can deliver containers to most homes. However, your PODS rep can help you ensure that you have enough space and that local HOA and city regulations allow for the delivery and storage of the moving containers.

Play Video

PODS has three container sizes. The smallest 8-foot option can fit belongings from a studio apartment. The company’s largest 16-foot portable storage container can often accommodate four-bedroom homes. And PODS’ 12-foot shipping container can fit up to three rooms for moves under 50 miles.

PODS container sizes

Length
Weight limit
No. of rooms
Availability
Learn more
8 ft.5,200 lbs.1Local and long-distance
12 ft.4,700 lbs.2–3Local only
16 ft.4,200 lbs.3–4Local and long-distance

Data as of 4/19/22. PODS container sizes are estimates. Customers are responsible for assessing the container capacity for their belongings.

Containers often save you money because you do much of the work (like packing and loading). PODS handles the big stuff like container delivery, pickup, and transportation.

Storage services

PODS also rents moving containers for storage purposes. Monthly fees vary but always come with the same flexible options:

  • At-home storage. Park the PODS container at your home and keep it as long as needed. It comes in handy for short-term remodels and decluttering projects. You can walk right out the front door and into your PODS container (no driving to a self-storage facility like Extra Space Storage or CubeSmart).
  • PODS facility storage. Keep your container at a PODS storage center. The company lets you access your belongings anytime you want, so long as you call ahead to schedule an appointment. PODS recommends its warehouses if you need storage for more than a few weeks or don’t have enough space in your driveway.
Megaphone
Will a PODS container fit at my home?

PODS needs a space about twice the size of two parking spaces to drop off a storage container (about 40 x 12 x 15 feet).

It’s important to note that PODS has the best storage options in the country. Some companies offer only at-home or facility storage (PODS does both). Similarly, some container services keep your belongings at a storage center but won’t allow you to access them (PODS will). PODS even has climate-controlled storage facilities for sensitive items like photographs and books. You simply can’t find better portable storage options.

Car shipping

PODS is one of the only moving container companies to offer auto transport services. It partners with an online marketplace (ACERTUS) where truck drivers bid on your shipment. While ACERTUS is a different logistics platform than the one used by the best car shipping companies, we suspect the price and quality are similar to what you see elsewhere.

The service is so new that PODS is still rolling out information.2 For now, we recommend you talk to your PODS representative if you want to ship a vehicle along with your belongings.


PODS international services

PODS offers international moving services between Canada and the United States. It also has in-country moving container services in Australia and the United Kingdom. We recommend contacting one of our best international moving companies if you need to move to a country other than Canada.


PODS long-term review

PODS is even more impressive when you look at how the container company has changed over time. We regularly review moving container companies, and PODS’ trajectory keeps going up. It handled moving during COVID-19 better than any of its competitors and managed to keep price hikes to a minimum. On the downside, PODS’ customer review scores dropped—but that trend applies to every similar moving service during the pandemic.

  • COVID-19. The pandemic created sky-high moving demand. Every company struggled to keep pace, but no one handled the twists and turns like PODS. It ensured you had a moving container, even if everyone wanted one. For example, PODS hired a third-party company to help keep scheduling on pace when its employees were out sick with COVID-19.
  • Price hikes. The pandemic’s high demand had a ripple effect across the entire moving industry. The average moving container company jacked its rates by 30% during COVID-19. PODS pricing went up only 20%.
  • Customer reviews. Customers rated moving container companies lower than normal during the pandemic. Our analysis of 16,000-plus reviews shows that the average container company’s review score went down about 0.5 stars over the last three years. PODS followed suit with review scores that dropped from 3.8 to 3.1 out of 5 stars.

Our recommendation

We recommend PODS for local and long-distance moves of all sizes. PODS beats the competition in nearly every category, including storage options, insurance, and low prices with a 10% discount. And the company has only gotten better with time. PODS rose from our third place company in 2020 to our overall top pick in 2022. You probably need to look elsewhere only if you live someplace without PODS coverage.

Save 10% with a PODS discount for Move.org readers


Moving container FAQ

What does PODS stand for?

PODS stands for Portable on Demand Storage. The moving company is so popular that competitors sometimes violate its trademark by referring to generic storage containers as moving pods.

How much does PODS cost?

PODS costs about $3,810 for the average move. Prices are much lower for small local moves, while you can expect to fork out three times as much for big long-distance moves.

What is PODS’ moving cost for long distance?

PODS charges approximately $4,690 for long-distance moves of over 1,750 miles. That’s roughly half as much as you’d spend hiring a professional moving company.

Which is better: U-Box or PODS?

PODS is better than U-Box. Both companies are industry leaders, but PODS has lower prices, higher quality, and better customer service.

Is PODS worth it for moving?

PODS gives customers a lot of value for local and long-distance moves. The moving container company has excellent rates, strong containers, and top-notch customer service.

How much does an 8-foot PODS container cost?

The average cost of an 8-foot PODS container is approximately $2,560. A 100-mile move costs around $850, while a cross-country trip sets you back more than $3,000.

How much does a 16-foot PODS container cost?

The average cost of a 16-foot PODS container is approximately $6,150. Prices range from about $1,940 for a 100-mile move to over $9,000 for a 2,000-mile trip.

What are the different PODS sizes?

PODS containers come in three sizes: an 8-foot, 12-foot, and 16-foot option. The smallest container can accommodate a studio apartment. At the same time, the largest one can often fit belongings from three to four rooms.

What is the smallest PODS size for moving?

The smallest PODS size is an eight-foot moving container. It’s ideal for dorms and apartments with about 500 square feet of belongings.

What PODS size do I need for a two-bedroom apartment?

You need a 12- or 16-foot PODS container for a two-bedroom apartment. While the 12-foot container is adequate, it’s available for only moves of less than 50 miles. The 16-foot container is more than you need, but it’s available for local and long-distance needs.

How much can fit in a 16-foot PODS container?

You can generally fit belongings from up to four bedrooms in PODS’ large 16-foot moving container. PODS also allows you to keep the container at your home for a monthly storage fee.

Do PODS containers have a weight limit?

Yes, PODS containers have a weight limit. The company’s smallest 8-foot moving container has the highest weight threshold (5,200 pounds). Its 12- and 16-foot containers can hold 4,700 and 4,200 pounds.

Why are moving containers so expensive?

Moving costs are high across the entire industry because of increased demand associated with the COVID-19 pandemic. Moving containers cost less than full-service moving companies. They can also be more affordable than rental trucks for long-distance moves.

What is the best long-distance moving company?

The best long-distance moving company is International Van Lines. It has moving discounts, worldwide availability, and top-tier customer service.

Does PODS have good customer service?

Yes, PODS has good customer service, as evidenced by the second-highest rating in the industry. It often receives praise for its friendly reps, low prices, and prompt service.

Does the military pay for PODS?

The U.S. military allows armed service personnel to use PODS moving containers for do-it-yourself (DIY) moves. The government provides a moving allowance tailored to your family and lets you keep whatever money you don’t spend.

Can you put a motorcycle in a PODS container?

PODS prohibits motorcycles, cars, and lawn mowers in its 8, 12, and 16-foot containers. We recommend using a professional motorcycle shipping company to transport your chopper.


Methodology

Move.org follows a six-step process to identify the nation’s best moving container companies:

  1. Compare quotes. We obtained and analyzed nearly 300 quotes from 7 of the nation’s largest moving container companies over 3 years.
  2. Mystery shopping. We do a top-to-bottom analysis of each company’s website and even call posing as customers. It helps us get a feel for what real-life customers experience.
  3. Analyze reviews. We read dozens of reviews for each company to see what most impresses (and turns off) customers. We also conducted a meta-analysis of more than 16,000 reviews to calculate an industry customer review average.
  4. Pay real-life customers for honest feedback. Move.org routinely gives away $500 moving grants in exchange for candid feedback about using moving container companies.
  5. Site visits. We invite industry experts and company executives to visit our headquarters in Salt Lake City, UT. We grill them on everything from pricing and customer reviews to insurance coverage and the latest industry trends.
  6. Annual review. Every year, we repeat the process to ensure that our list of the best moving container companies stays current. That means our top recommendations and industry prices may change each year.

Recommended resources

People also asked

Other moving container picks

Our reports on PODS customers’ experiences

Did you know that you can apply for a moving grant to cover some of your expenses? We pay real-life customers in exchange for their candid feedback. See what some of them have to say about moving with PODS:

Sources

  1. PODS. “Contents Protection Option,” March 3, 2015. Accessed April 26, 2022.
  2. PODS. “PODS Partners with ACERTUS to Expand Moving Services to Include Auto Shipping,” April 12, 2022. Accessed April 19, 2022.
Kurt Manwaring
Written by
Kurt Manwaring
Kurt Manwaring brings nearly a decade’s worth of research experience as a business consultant to the Move.org team. He specializes in taking complicated issues (like moving) and presenting them in a way that everyone can understand. His writing has been featured in hundreds of publications, including USA Today, Martha Stewart Living, Country Living, Good Housekeeping, Heavy, Slate, and Yahoo! Lifestyle. He brings a BS in sociology and an MPA (masters of public administration) to the Move team. He would love to hear about your moving experiences and questions at kurt@move.org.
  • I’m in Canada and moved to Vancouver, BC from Calgary, AB last year. Circumstances changed and now need to move back …on a budget! Feeling a bit lost, since the only move I’ve ever done on my own has been several blocks in the same city. So this blog TOTALLY helps! Thx!

  • How does PODS get away with charging tax on pickup and delivery? I thought service was not taxable. I’m not purchasing anything and delivery/pickup I would consider labor.

  • I would say WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER, but there is no customer service!! They all say the same script, we have not heard back from either of the complaints. They miss quoted, would not resolve issue, lied about how much storage we would need… VERY DISSAPOINTED in all areas of this company so far.

  • very poor customer service, I was quoted one price, seems reasonable, so I ordered 5 PODS, when it came time for delivery, the prices doubled, BEWARE!!!! You will end up paying way more than they quoted! Would definitely not use again.

    1. Mhm prices TRIPLED for me. I’m telling everyone I can about their lies and cheating.

      Had one representative tell me that I had no balance and then have to pay a past due balance today for almost $500. Bullshit. When you think you’re caught up and have to shell out another grand to a company that’s scamming you?

  • I totally agree with Kyle, there is absolutely no customer service, I was on the phone for over 2 hours, just get transferred back and forth, there is no one that will take any responsibility to resolve their errors. Seriously, the delivery and storage charges are crazy, do not ever use PODS!!!

  • I’m telling everyone I can to absolutely NEVER use PODS. Theres absolutely no customer service, and they absolutely refuse to be accountable for their companies screw ups.

    I spend two hours on the phone in the hospital recovering from surgery trying to get it through a SUPERVISOR’s thick skull that I was lied to, pissed about it, and wanting some compensation.

    They refused to help me, even going so far as to say I would NOT be getting my things after they’ve lied to me about money costs. I’ve dumped almost $7,000 into their company and they’re still charging me more.

    They will LIE, CHEAT, and STEAL whatever money they can from you.

  • Agree with folks in this comment section that PODS has absolutely the worst customer service possible and refuse to do anything to help you if they screw up. My husband has worked in customer service and was appaled that they even called their representatives “customer service specialists.” The review above says PODS is a “full-service convenience meets DIY affordability—all on your timetable.” Definitely didn’t receive our delivery on our timetable, and given how rough they were with the container when they delivered it to us, I’m shocked that only one thing was was broken (we had it packed by professional movers who were also friends, so we were lucky). Do yourself a favor and keep the stress down during your move and DO NOT USE PODS!

    1. Their customer service is AWFUL! Must be where people without a high school education go to work.

  • Also another HORRIBLE experience. I ended up having to donate or throw away $700-$800 worth of stuff I had and ship $230 worth of other stuff because the driver came earlier than what was told with no call beforehand, I mean, wouldn’t it be good manners to do so when you’re picking up someone’s entire life to just give them a headsup when you’re arriving?, when I asked for some extra time, he said sure, only to get the podzilla set to go right as I went inside to get more boxes to throw in there. Afterwards, my PODS was delayed almost an entire week just because, so I had to cancel my storage until I get an actual time frame from them. I was told this the DAY OF when it was supposed to arrive. Talked to customer service, and they basically told me, “it’s just a courtesy call, they don’t have to do it, so we don’t have to compensate you anything” so Too Bad, so sad. Go with U-Pack or some other service, PODS is terrible

  • Here’s what went well: I packed everything carefully, strapped it in well, and it all arrived on time in excellent condition. That’s due to my careful packing, and PODS delivery system which keeps the loads level
    Here’s what didn’t go well: Customer service—We’re in a high-density,limited space neighborhood, and they’ve left both PODS, sitting empty both in our driveway and partially blocking the street.
    You will never be able to speak with the local franchise owner, and you’re stuck–they won’t pick them up for 10 more days.

    This is a clue: Who’d be willing to leave a revenue-producing piece of equipment idle for 10 days when it could be making money for your company today? PODS would.

    Repeated calls and chat sessions with customer service are useless. The neighbors are driving around the PODS units and we’re stuck parking our cars on the street. Both units were emptied and ready for pickup in three hours. The real problem, I learned, is they can’t keep people working for them—they are badly managed and don’t treat their employees well—according to the employees!
    Will not recommend them, will not use them again. The concept is great. The management of the enterprise is wanting. Don’t think they’ll stay in business.

  • I called PODs today after looking at their website. It was a strange experience. The person on the phone included 1 months storage at $289 in the quote. I told them that I want my PODs delivered as soon as possible after the pickup and the 4 day transit estimate would work. But they insisted that charging for a months storage was the way they did it. They also wanted to charge $180 to deliver the POD and then $130 to bring it to my new location after charging $1224 to drive it to the new city. The total was going to be $1823 to move a 16′ POD 225 miles. This did not include loading and unloading which I told them I wanted them to include. Next they started insisting that I make a reservation so that I would save money. They kept telling me how I needed to lock in the price because it would go up and book because they get so busy. It was a persistent hard sell. It was a real turn off. I had other quotes of $1200 – $1400 for the same move with a truck including loading and unloading.

  • Cant get a price list. Thats a bad sign. All their rates should be publicly published. Smells bad to me

  • I used PODS recently, but I will never again make that mistake again. They impaled the side of one of the containers, and they clearly knew about it because they patched it up from the outside. Months of fighting with them, but they refuse to pay for anything. Worst service ever. Now I have to sue them. https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/36665beaea3d271ae849dfc54e747505889a99161e2b666988de70692277136a.jpg https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/0ce1e5e2db789446eb781a96f374991bfe9271efb059e6357cf0934e54095a89.jpg https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/df760a14754cf2294d68d17fb47671539f9670190fb0bc3c0cfb58978509fea1.jpg

  • I’m willing to bet that PODS is having their own employees do the reviews for there is NO WAY they get those stellar reviews! The bad experience started with the phone call, as PODS won’t give you a quote online if you are moving from one state to another. The operator was awful and very hard to understand. The quote for the smallest container, for two months, moving from VA to Ohio was $1800. But then she informs me that the quote is not final because, even though I was planning on having the container at my house until moving it to Ohio, the company REQUIRES that the container be driven to their Virginia warehouse for inspection, then to the Ohio warehouse for ANOTHER inspection before delivering it to our destination. Of course, they are charging us the extra fuel and mileage for these additional trips and who know what other additional “fees” they can come up with. So, in the end, the $1800 quote is not even a final quote but dependent on the “additional” fees that they will come up with. No thank you; I definitely smell a rat here.

  • PODS is the worst company I have worked with, EVER. I explained to their associate several times how much I had to load into a POD, he insisted a single 16 footer would be sufficient, it was not. I have since made a dozen calls and have been transferred to a supervisor twice. I have been in a hotel room in the city I have been trying to leave for 2 nights now. Their ‘storage’ facility does not know how to answer a phone (or so they say) and although I have been very clear on the fact that I need to get out of my apt and start my drive across country, the additional POD is not being delivered until 4p tomorrow afternoon, day 3. I have a 2500 mile drive to make, I have a job I need to get to and I have lost 3 days due to their incompetence. They do not care about their customers, stay as far away from them as possible.

  • Reading majority of these reviews and I feel a bit sorry for some of the agents having to deal with the public. I used this company twice within the last 4 years. Referred by a family member that had a great experience moving with them, as well. My first move, the sales agent took a great deal of time in setting up my move for me, and as stressed out as I was at that time, I couldn’t have felt any more relieved I chose this place to move with.

    Like majority of the country, I moved during the time pods called their “busy season”, and scheduling can and will fill up without any warning FAST. The agents would always urge me to schedule every part of my move and change my dates later, if needed simply bc if I didn’t and waited until even a week before to call and try to arrange something, they may not be able to help me. Maybe my friends, family and I just got lucky every time we used this company? Customer service could step up their game but that’s every company. Overall, I can’t complain abt my choice using pods. The emailed me reminding me of pretty much everything. My online account wasn’t very user friendly, however it shows you how much you’re getting charged, the date you’re getting charged and what the charge is for. Moving is a nightmare to begin with. So I could at least relax a little seeing what I signed up for was exactly what I was told I was going to get.

    I’m sure I’m not the only customer that had an online account with access to verify all the information the agent sold me? Dates I scheduled, along with the dates they were going to charge me and the exact amount they were going to charge….so when I read others say “I DIDNT KNOW”or “NO ONE TOLD ME THIS”, everything is in your online account. Your pods agreement, even. It’s all there. I’m definitely not saying PODs is perfect, I’m just saying as an adult that has had HORRIBLE experiences moving prior to PODs, it wasn’t an impossible feat to just log onto their site and verify everything. Takes 5 secs? Probably would have eliminated 80% of these issues being complained abt. The irony when some said pods refuses to accept accountability for their screw ups and then in the same paragraph they didn’t know abt all the fees. ITS IN YOUR ONLINE ACCOUNT. Everything is.

    Only downside to this company is the customer service dept long wait times for just a date change. That got annoying, but again “busy season”. And the agents in that dept always sound like they’re fried, but if I had to deal with even a few of the complaints I’ve read here, I’d probably sound fried too!!

    My advice? As long as you schedule everything in ADVANCE, don’t wait til the last minute AND confirm everything through your online account, again IN ADVANCE, easy move.

    Oh and from personal experience, putting your pod in the street, nightmare. Why the city has control regarding the parking in front of our homes is irritating. But that’s a whole separate issue. Good luck with your move!

  • So I will not claim to be objective here – full disclosure – I am in the portable storage business. I do believe that the concept is a great one – combining the best of do-it-yourself pricing and eliminating the hassle of truck driving and same-day moving. There are many other companies that are in this business other than PODS® – here is a short posting on how we compare to PODS® shop around – you can get great service and pricing from other portable storage companies other than PODS®
    https://www.icanstorage.com/how-the-little-guy-finishes-first/

  • I scheduled the move as soon as I could on line with PODS and followed up with a phone call to confirm. The day for pick up came around and they didn’t show up and it dropped out of their system. I had to get a truck and move everything twice. When calling their customer service, two different agents told me they would give me a call back and see what they could do and never got a call back. They lied, let me down when I needed them most, and caused so much additional costs and efforts. I will never use them and can’t recommend them to anyone. Use someone else – PODS will only let you down.

  • Strongly advise against PODs.
    It all looks good in theory but trust me if anything goes wrong with your move it will REALLY go wrong!!

    We moved from NY to CA with 2 months’ travel in between — PODs was supposed to move the container with all our furniture and belongings to CA into an air-conditioned facility and have it waiting there for us. It however never made the move — I called them from CA to find out they had been keeping it in a hot NY warehouse for 2 months, and after numerous delays, false automated telephone, email, and text alerts it took them another **20 days** to get it across the country! After all that it was rejected at the CA border for a gypsy moth on the outside (probably picked up in the hot warehouse where the container should not have been!). They nonchalantly said it had to be sent to Harvey, IL for treatment. REALLY??! That’s 2000 miles away! What kind of idiotic decision is that? There was no consultation, no options or evidence presented to me. I must have spoken to a dozen customer agents and none of them had a clue how to help me, or why this extreme situation had arisen; calling them is a waste of time as they will just direct you to your online account which has the same lack of information. Most importantly they can’t give any estimate of when we will get our belongings, let alone any compensation for the suffering my family has endured — all responsibility is just shrugged off. My whole house’s belongings is in limbo. They don’t care we’ve been sleeping on the floor in our jackets for weeks. They honestly don’t care, and I expect they won’t be in business much longer, god forbid your container is in their hands when they fold.

    Avoid this company unless you’re just moving worthless junk you don’t mind losing forever. Otherwise you will really, really regret it.

  • I am very, very unhappy with the service. Everything was fine until they picked up my POD. Then, they e-mailed me a “rental agreement” which needed to be signed. What? I rented this two months ago. Also as I am in the midst of packing and moving I don’t check my e-mail often. They had my phone number, but instead of calling, they cancelled my delivery. Now I have to cancel the people that were coming to help me unpack. And, I can’t get it until 3 days after it was expected.

  • Terrible customer service. Please do not use Pods. I think a gaggle of monkeys runs this company. Their website is useless. For example, when you want to schedule them to come pick up your Pod there’s a link on your account page. Great, I thought, that’s easy. I click on the link, it leads me to a dead end. Finally I get on the chat with someone and he just says “You can’t schedule a pickup from the website, you have to call the customer service number.” I asked if I can’t use the “schedule” link then why does it exist? He said I couldn’t use the link because my move is long distance. I explained that I’m in Albuquerque, and I need the local Albuquerque driver to come get the Pod and store it in Albuquerque…how is that long distance? He couldn’t answer.

    On the night before my Pod is due to arrive I get an automated call telling me our Pod will arrive between 7am and 10 am. That’s fine, I understand they can’t get more detailed than a three hour window. We play musical cars and get the driveway cleared out and even had our neighbors who park on the street move their car in order to give the Pod driver lots of room to maneuver since we had the biggest Pod container, 16 feet. We get up early. We move all our cars. Our neighbor’s car. We wait. 10 am comes and goes. No phone call, no email. No nothing. Eventually 5 pm comes…it’s getting dark. No Pod, no phone call, no update. No nothing. About 7 pm I call the main number in Florida and tell them no one showed up all day. They just said that they’d reschedule it for the next day. No explanation, no apology.

    Two weeks later we’re ready to have this god-forsaken company come and get their empty Pod. They scheduled it for the next day and said that I would get an automated call later that night telling me the three-hour window in which they would arrive. That’s right, you guessed it. No phone call. No email. No nothing. Again, I have no idea if we’ll have to wake up at the crack of dawn to move vehicles and ask neighbors to move their cars from the street near our driveway. The next morning I get on the chat with the unhelpful “JR” employee. I said “I was told we would be given a three hour window or arrival and we’ve heard nothing.” His brilliant and oh-so-unhelpful answers was “You were supposed to get an automated call last night.” I said “I know I SHOULD have gotten a call, but I DIDN’T and that’s the problem.” He only said “Our driver will call you when he’s 30 minutes away.” I said that’s not helpful as we had a lot of vehicles to move and get ready and since we were asking neighbors to move their cars that’s not something we wanted to do and then have their cars be moved somewhere else for 8 freaking hours ahead of time. He then said “Make sure the Pod is empty and unlocked.” In other words, complete ignores my previous sentence (in chat) and doesn’t want to deal with me because he has no answers for me.

    The Pod itself is fine and I have no complaints about the Pod. However, if you want someone with an IQ of at least 85 to help arrange delivery, pick-up, drop-offs, etc., then do not deal with this horrible company. Especially for the exorbitant amount of money they charge for their service. They don’t ever seem to know what they are talking about, and worse, they simply don’t care. You will pull your hair out dealing with these mental midgets. Choose another company.

  • CONSUMER BEWARE. PODS has AUTO PAY and will randomly take funds out of your account without authorization. The original CONTRACT indicated they were to move the PODS from Evergreen Park, IL to Whitewater Wisconsin. I authorized my credit card payment for the TRANSPORT of the container on 3-3-2020 of $391 but instead of applying the funds to the TRANSPORT, they applied funds to the monthly rental of $291. which isn’t due until 3-10-2020. Since then PODS has amended the contract to suit their own agenda without my approval. Needless to say, the people I had lined up on 3-11-2020 to unpack the container can’t because the container will NOT be delivered until 3-24-2020. The container is sitting in Bolingbrook, IL. I will not allow companies to do AUTO pay and according to them, that is part of the contract. I asked for a supervisor and was told, there was no one available. MOVING is stressful and this company and their LACK of customer service added to the stress. They are very incompetent to say the least. CUSTOMER NO SERVE

  • TLDR; Using Pods.com has been the most stressful and costly mistake we’ve ever made for a move. They have an utter lack of regard and zero care or concern for their customers. Using this company could end up costing you thousands of dollars and weeks of frustration and stress. BUYER BEWARE.

    Here’s the full story:
    In May of 2021 we moved from FL to NC. Pods.com picked dropped off the container at the scheduled time, and picked up our full container after we packed it with zero issues. This is where the positive ends, and the nightmare begins.

    Pods.com was supposed to deliver our stuff on June 1st, and they missed their re-delivery window with no explanation. I had to call 4 times and wait on hold for 30-45 minutes each time, and nobody could tell me anything until 4 hours later. Meanwhile, we had movers waiting to unpack and they were waiting at our house for 3 hours. I had to pay for their time.

    Next, they scheduled my re-delivery for an entire 14 days LATER with zero explanation or recourse. This was all done without my consent or any conversation before hand.

    Third, their automated system hung up on me after waiting on hold, sometimes for 45+ minutes. Picture sitting in your driveway with movers that you’re paying to wait with you and sitting on hold waiting for an updated delivery time, only to get hung up on over and over again. By the way, I had full bars and perfect cell reception, so it was their system that caused the issues.

    Fourth, when I finally did talk to someone, they promised I would be reimbursed for the expenses incurred from their mistakes. However, I have called multiple times to try and file a claim for the extra time we had to live in a hotel and the stuff we had to buy as a result of their failure to fulfill on their promise.

    This company supposedly caters to military families. I’m a veteran and I have never been treated so poorly by any company before. This ordeal has cost us thousands of dollars due to their failure to deliver. The emotional stress has been the biggest cost.

    The culture of this company must be horrible, because the vast majority of representatives I spoke with after the sale was made were aloof, dispassionate or downright rude. You can look up their core values and just completely invert them to get some idea of what your experience will be if anything goes wrong.

    My advice to anyone considering Pods.com – look elsewhere. Consider paying professional movers, renting a truck, or other options… any option EXCEPT this company.

    P.S. No doubt they will have someone respond to this comment offering to rectify the situation. Based on what I’ve learned from others who’ve had similar experiences, this is for optics only and there is little probability they will follow through on any sort of resolution.